The Dark Side

I have a friend who also suffers depression, so I can see it from the outside when it is happening to him.  We went under at around the same time this episode, so it was gratifying to have someone who finally FINALLY gets it.  Do you know what that means??  The full implications??  Here is the epiphany:

I have a safe place.

I have never had this before.  Because if you’ve never experienced it, you may be able to sympathize, but you can NEVER empathize. So, to you, I look crazy. You may still like me, you may be able to excuse it (and believe me, I think that is asking a lot), but you will never be able to stand beside me and let me be crazy.  Wait me out.  Know it can’t get better.  And THAT, my friends, is what we need.  Back-up.  NOT someone trying to make us better.  Because there is no. way.  that HE would EVER be able to give me what i need.Image

To understand what self destruction looks like.  FEELS like.   And so he doesn’t really know what he’s getting, if that makes sense.  And therefore has no idea what he’s forgiving.  So the amount of freedom is limited.

But to the initiated…..there is safety.  Finally.

Leave a comment